Monet goes to preschool

Last summer I discovered one of the joys of having a porch: sitting and watching the world go by. The annoying thing was having to drag a chair outside every day and having no place to set a water bottle, novel, phone, notebook, whatever. I had to remedy this situation!


I guess this isn’t techinically my starting point as I had to do some work to scrape pine needles, twigs, and pine cones from that patch of dirt. And I found all of those rocks, too. Why there were so many rocks buried in that little plot of land is anyone’s guess. Then these came from Savers – a good $7 investment if you ask me! That table is rather unsteady,s o I can’t put anything too heavy on it like, say, my anvil collection. Oh well. I’ll just have to make do.

The problem is that I live very close to several dorms, Boulder High, and Boulder Creek. So there’s lots of people walking by my place at all hours of the day (and night). The potential for thievery exists. So my thought process went something like, “Hey, if I make this chair LOOK strange and awful, maybe it will be left alone.” Thus began the journey to gaudy transformation.

I dragged the chair to Jessica’s for craft night (huzzah that it fits in Marsha’s back seat!) and while the other girls were knitting up a storm I sat in a corner of the kitchen surrounded by paint bottles. Cosette came by frequently to hiss at me, or at my “artistry” – I’m not sure which.


Initially, I started out simply with polka dots. I have always been a fan of polka dots.

Then things got more elaborate with strawberry vines.

Ultimately, a blue lobster joined the party. I think he turned out pretty cute!

Maybe I should have let it go at that, but I didn’t. Instead I spent two more nights outside in the grass with the mosquitos painting until my chair became colorful enough to look like it excaped from a pre-school.

A sunset was added at Jessica’s request next to the strawberries. Palm tree silhouettes seem overdone, so I went with a cactus instead. It makes me think of Forrest Gump running through the desert at sunrise.

Then some love for the arms and legs. An homage to my birthplace and hot rods / Harley Davidson.
Balanced out the flames with some birds flying among puffy clouds. And a pickle-and-cherry-ice-cream cone. Heh, heh. If you haven’t heard the story of my pickle-and-cherry ice cream, you’re missing out. It has nothing to do with pregnancy and everything to do with being four years old.
Compared to the chair, the table was looking pretty pathetic. I had tried initially to cover it with some old fabric. But the fabric wasn’t wide enough so I ended up doing it in strips. I drew a lady bug on it, but it still didn’t look very good. The gaudiness of the chair was getting to me, so I went for something different with the table: finger painting an homage to Monet’s waterlillies.


The water was done by just smearing paint with fingers. I did break down and use a brush for the flowers.

Overall, I’m pleased with how the table turned out. This was painted inside as I had enough of being the mosquito buffet. So now when I look at it I think of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, which was playing in the background.

And thus my sitting place was “finished”. At least until those bare spots on the chair start calling to me again.

Maybe I’ll paint the pile of rocks now. Think that would be a violation of my lease?
This entry was posted in home stuff, making stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

