my hope is not in washington

I was driving home from work Tuesday and saw a car with an Obama campaign sticker on it. Personally, I don’t get why people put campaign bumper stickers on their cars. Talk about dating your car. Are people really so passionate about who they voted for in a local election six years ago? I once saw a car with a Regan campaign sticker on it. Okay, I guess when the sticker passes the twenty-year age mark it’s turned a corner to become cool retro / vintage. But I digress…

Looking at that sticker, it popped into my head that the marketing person responsible for Obama’s campaign was a fricking genius. Obama’s face became pop-art for goodness sakes! But beyond that, the whole campaign was built around one word: change. Brilliant! Why? Because it preys on the human condition that we are NEVER satisfied. We always want something to be different, better. And politics completely falls into this. Even the most politically ignorant person among us would admit he’s not too pleased with the way our government is running things. He can’t say exactly why or what should be different, but tell him that things are going to CHANGE and he’d be delighted.
Is it any wonder that the American people are becoming disappointed with Obama now? Sure, some things are probably different now that they were before he took office, but are they better? Probably not. The only thing that changes is exchanging one set of problems for another. Maybe the Obama administration is starting to realize just how dangerous their campaign was. There’s no such thing as perfect and by promising change they were inadvertently promising steps towards perfection, utopia, whatever.
Heard a quote recently, something along the lines of: “I’m a Republican because I don’t want to spend my life waiting for the government to save me.” Well, I’m not a Republican (or a Democrat, for that matter) but I don’t believe the government can save me. And frankly, I don’t want it to. If you want to do something more expensively and less efficiently, get the government involved.
This entry was posted in random stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

