You’ve gotta fight for your right to party!

It was Saturday, January 23. Since I was out and about, I decided to go to the 5PM Saturday night service at church. (I generally go Sunday morning.) I arrived just as the first song started and literally walked around for two whole songs trying to find a seat. It was just that crowded. I squeezed in past a couple, and the lady asked me, “Do you want pink or green?” smiling and holding up two deflated balloons. Curious, I took the green one from her and settled in for the sermon.

It was on Luke 14, where Jesus says when you give a party to invite the poor, crippled, lame, and blind. Then they announced Flatirons was going to host a “prom” for adults with disabilities. Then we all blew up our balloons and danced to “Celebrate”. I drove straight home, got on the computer, and filled out my volunteer application.

It was good that I went to the early Saturday night service. Because every volunteer spot was filled up by Sunday morning. They had to add another prom night because so many people wanted to help out. At our volunteer meeting Tuesday night, Jim got up and said, “For each person sitting in this room we had to tell at least one person they couldn’t come.” Seeing as how there were 1200 volunteers, that’s pretty amazing. (People at Flatirons have huge hearts.)

I submitted a leave slip requesting time off to volunteer for set up. Spend Wednesday night and several hours Thursday helping with set-up for the Thursday prom. It was amazing to see so many people so excited.

They asked me to help pick up centerpieces donated from Lafayette Florist. The staff at the shop were thrilled to be a part of the awesomeness. “I have goosebumps just thinking about it!” one woman said.

And all the little details in the set up, obviously done with love. All the pews were removed from the sanctuary and 90 banquet tables brought in. Six chairs to a table. Bolts of tulle cut and tied in bows around the chairs. Plasticware removed from individual packets and arranged neatly on paper napkins. (All the food and tableware was from Chick-fil-A. I loooooove Chick-fil-A!) Straws half-removed from their wrappers and placed in cups. Even the chicken-dipping sauce packets were artfully arranged on the tables!

I couldn’t sleep last night, so excited to experience Shine tonight.

And now I’m the best kind of tired: happy tired. Can’t remember the last time I stood for four hours. Can’t remember the last time I smiled so much. Can’t remember the last time I saw so many smiles. Can’t remember the last time I couldn’t help dancing because I was so happy even though my back was aching.

A few little stories:

A guest named Victor was so excited that it just seemed to well up inside him. He started shaking and then yelled out, “Woohoo!!”

Doing the chicken dance with guests, and the Chick-fil-A cows. Ironic, and so much fun.

Telling one of our worship pastors, “You have to go check out the pig race. It’s awesome.” He returned to me ten minutes later and confirmed, “Best game ever!”

At the end of the night, a guest said to me, “On Tuesday is my birthday. I’ll be 59. And I want to party like THIS!” And I’m pretty sure he threw up rock fingers.

When I left tonight, the church was 90% set back up. Guess that’s what 600 people can do in 37 minutes!!!

This entry was posted in stuff that matters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

