momma’s day gift – a.k.a. photo collage #2

So I liked the letter collage I made for my friends so much that I wanted to make another one for my grandma for mother’s day.

But this time I went frame shopping FIRST cause I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to find something for eight letters.  Then I walked to Pearl Street to snap some more pictures.  (I’ve actually been carrying my camera around almost everywhere since the last project, always on the lookout for letters.  But I didn’t have everything I needed.)

Once again since I have no photo-editing software I used Word to remove color and adjust contrast, and here’s what I ended up with!

I’m actually quite annoyed with how Target printed my pictures.  Their machine is cutting off a bit off the edges, because all of these ended up zoomed in a bit from what I gave them.  That’s why the C especially on the bottom is really filling the frame.  (You can compare against original layout plans below in Word.)  Will have to keep this in mind next time I do this project.

Some tips if you’re going to make one of these yourself (which you totally should!):

Go SLOWLY and look at EVERYTHING.  Shadows, details, stuff drawn in wet concrete.  Letters won’t be easy to find – unless they’re on signs.  But if you think about it, half a bicycle wheel is a C and the corner of a rectangle is an L.  Patience, grasshopper.  I glanced down at my feet, and there was a K!

Be aware of ORIENTATION – that is if your letters are going to be in portrait or landscape.  I carried a scrap of paper in my pocket that I kept pulling out for reference.

If you’re like me and have no photo-editing software, make sure to CENTER and FILL (most of) THE FRAME.

Give yourself OPTIONS rather than saying, “Okay, I found a G.  Done!”  Find a few more Gs.  Sometimes things won’t look as good in the photo as real life, or they won’t work for the collage.  Like I was hoping to use the tail of the mountain lion sculpture in front of the Cheesecake Factory for the C, but then I realized that three of the letters on my bottom row would be dark shapes on a light background.

Take LOTS of shots of your subject.  Vary zoom, flash, try with and without macro settings.  Step a bit to the left or right to maybe get a more interesting angle.

And just because I’m an architecture major doesn’t mean you have to use industrial elements for a collage like this.  How cute would this be with photo letters from toys for a child’s room?  Or tree branches, stones, and natural elements?  Or maybe hands making ASL letters?  Be creative!  

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This entry was posted in making stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

