three more weeks to go – hello, sunshine!

Ever wish you could spray Febreeze on yourself?  No?  Okay, I guess it’s just me.  I don’t look pretty after exercising.  I sweat a lot, and my face turns lobster red.  I know I get the latter from my dad’s side of the family – you should see how we all turn into tomatoes when we’re laughing hard.

I could have sworn when I checked NOAA this morning that it said the precipitation might start tonight.  Guess I was wrong because it’s gorgeously sunny outside.  (With lots of people on the creek path taking advantage.)  Now their predictions say the rain’ll start tomorrow evening and turn to snow – in other words, not great outdoor running weather.

So I hit the creek path tonight.  I checked mapmyrun.com a few weeks ago and discovered it’s just about one mile from my place to a specific bridge.  So that’s where I went.  I figured I’d run-walk-run there, stop and stretch, and run-walk-run home.  I did just about that, except with an extra brief walk-run on the way back because I started getting a stitch in my side.

Checked mapmyrun when I got home, and I think I did a total of 2.07 mi, running 1.37 mi.  It’s a far cry from what I did yesterday, but I was quite stiff and sore today.  And I know you’re not supposed to overdo it with your strenuous stuff regularly.  It’s amazing how much I know about running for not being a runner, eh?  I blame it on Boulder.  And having a Ironman competitor for a boss for a few years.

My coworker at the rec knows I’ve been using it a lot – ’cause she’s seen me there, and I keep asking her questions – and reminded me of another location that is open this week.  Bless her!  If it wasn’t for that coming snowstorm, I’d try outside running this whole week, honestly.  But I don’t think I’m ready to combine my fear of walking on ice with my fear of running.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This entry was posted in project run. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

