Running is bananas!

Confession: I love that MTV show Made.  (That’s the only thing on MTV I ever watch.)  The one where a quarterback becomes a tap dancer, a prissy girl becomes a soccer player, a geek becomes a beauty queen.  Or, rather, they try to become said things.  Or they become them for the duration of the show…

Image from MTV’s web site 

I realize that a most people on that show probably aren’t serious about changing who they are, becoming someone different, pushing their limits.  A lot of them are trying to impress other people or trying to get on television.  But I like to pretend they’re actually doing this stuff to build character.

Well, “I wanna be made,” too.  Into an athlete.

I’m the opposite of an athlete.  I tried soccer in elementary school once and made it through one practice.  The most athletic things I do – or have ever done – are dance and hiking.  Yeah, that’s it.  I’m a couch potato.  I love reading, crocheting, sewing, painting, playing board games, blogging, interweb surfing, and watching Joss Whedon shows.  Oh, and napping.  Napping’s awesome.  Basically, any activity that doesn’t involve burning calories I probably like.

Photo from flickr

But I want to be an athlete.  Specifically, I want to be a runner.

The problem is that I hate running.  Really.  In middle school when we had to run the mile in gym, I was generally the second fastest girl in my school because I wanted to get it over with!  So I don’t understand why people do it willingly.  I call them masochists.  
But you know what?  I hate bananas, too, yet for some reason I buy them and eat them.  Is running just a big banana?  
The truth is that I’m jealous and in awe.  Seriously, I’m totally impressed by people who say, “I went for a run,” in the same way I say, “I went to the grocery store.”  Each Memorial Day I’d go sit on the curb of Pearl Street for a few hours to cheer on the Bolder Boulder participants.  I rock at cheering.  And one of the things I’d yell was, “You’re doing awesome!  I could never do this!”  

But I still want to be able to do it.  Maybe it’s because there’s so many runners in Boulder.  And I live near the creek, so I see them daily as I walk to work.  Blame peer pressure.

Photo from boulderrunning.com 

Part of it is thinking about who I really want to be.  I don’t want to be a couch potato.  I want to be healthier, less stressed, sleep better, and take care of this body that’s supposed to be a temple.  And I don’t want to go through life without challenging myself.  They say the most rewarding things in life take work, right?  Am I willing to work for them?  Can I make a goal and stick with it?  Can I overcome something I don’t like – like bananas?  And it would be awesome if climbing those 14ers was a little easier.

Or even if climbing that hill to work every day was a little easier…

I’m still not completely sure why folks call this the Ho Chi Minh trail… 

Well, enough is enough, so recently I resolved to do the BB myself this year.  I had no Made coach to kick my butt, so I’ve had to kick my own.  Blogging about it also helps encourage me to do it (you can click on the PROJECT: RUN button on the side of this blog) as well as having some encouraging friends.  I only had seven weeks to train and get in shape, but my goal was to run half of the 10K distance.  Five weeks in, and I’m amazed at the difference.  I’m working out 4-5 times per week, and running almost two miles regularly.  Yay!  I can’t yet say that I enjoy running, but it’s definitely getting to the point where it doesn’t suck.  As much.  

So if you’re in Boulder on May 31, watch for me in the NA wave!  I’ve been thinking of running it dressed as Dorothy (since I already have the costume), but maybe I should be a big banana instead…  

Photo from Denver Post. 

Random note: did you know there’s a race called the Bananaman Chase – where a few fast people dress up as bananas and everyone else chases them?  Gotta love the Brits!

This entry was posted in doing stuff, thinking about stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Running is bananas!

  1. Miss Ash says:

    I didn't know you blogged!! Awesome!

    Oh, and you can do it! Way to throw the whole inspiration banana at me. 🙂

  2. Amy Hadley says:

    We are such kindred spirits. I completely relate to all of this. Oh, except for that one little bit about WANTING to want to run!

    Question: do people dress up for the BB, or will you be the only one? I can't decide which would be more awesome. Please take a pic.

  3. Alissa says:

    Oh, I'd say probably about 5% of the participants dress up – which for a 60,000 person race means a lot.

    There's also people that do crazy stuff like run backwards or hula hoop the whole way. One year there was a group of about ten kids that did leap frog for the whole race!

  4. Alissa says:

    Thanks, Ash! I'm totally a sporadic blogger – not near as dedicated to do the day-to-day thing like you.

Leave a Reply

