Chocolate to sooth the masses!

I’ve been blog-absent for more than two weeks, and I know you all have just been heartbroken about it, right?  *crickets*  Um, right?  *distant rumblings of highway traffic*  Oh.. kay….

Well, maybe no one’s interested in CHOCOLATE then.

Oh, what?  I’m sorry, do I have your attention now?  Yeah, yeah, I see where your loyalties lie.

Now I know I’m going to shock and disappoint everyone when you watch this five-and-a-half-minute video and learn that the fudge that I make for you all isn’t actually my recipe at all.  Honestly, it is kinda fun keeping recipe origins a secret because people act like food is so much better when you don’t share the recipe.

So now that I told you where to find it, what’s the purpose of making a video?  Because I’ve made this recipe so many times that I can just about do it in my sleep.  And I’ve messed it up a zillion times, too.  And because, similar to crafts, there’s a difference between having a pattern/recipe and making said pattern/recipe.

And because I promised to make it as a retirement present for my boss.  Whose last day is tomorrow.  *sniff*

P.S.  Want to make peanut butter fudge?  I did make up my own way to modify this recipe for that.  Use half the butter called for, and then mix a jar of PB in instead of chocolate.  If possible, use the natural stuff but drain the oil away first; otherwise you end up with a nasty crust of oil sitting on top of your finished fudge.

P.P.S  If you want to make LOTS of friends, make the chocolate fudge and then immediately the PB fudge.  Mix ’em together while they’re both still hot.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This entry was posted in cooking stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate to sooth the masses!

  1. Cheryl says:

    I can almost smell it! Wish I could TASTE it!!!

  2. Amy Hadley says:

    That is UH LOT of butter. And a lot of sugar! We use the recipe on the marshmallow cream jar for our Christmas fudge… you make it year 'round? Brilliant!

  3. Alissa says:

    I always double the recipe, so technically the extra butter's not any worse for you. Unless you eat double the amount.

    A word of warning if you make it year-round: do it after the sun goes down! Waaaay too to stand over a stove for that long in the summer heat.

Leave a Reply

