adventures in dyeing

No, not shuffling off this mortal coil.  As in dye.  As in changing colors.  I’ve been wanting to experiment with dying fabric.  So I grabbed some Rit liquid dye and some scraps of knit and went at it!

I didn’t want to dye in my sink, and I didn’t have a bucket, so I improvised.

One thing I wanted to try was dip-dying, where there’s a gradual fade from one color to another.  I decided the best way to do this was to probably wet the fabric first, then dip half in the dye bath.

Not as gradual a fade as I wanted, but that’s why this was an experiment.  If I had it to do over, I would have added smaller amounts of dye to the bath in stages and dipped multiple times.

Then letting it dry while throwing the big piece in for some plain ol’ block color dyeing.

Good thing my favorite color means I already had towels ready to catch drips and a spoon for stirring.  And yes, my timer is shaped like a strawberry…

After a few minutes, glanced at the dye bottle and saw on the SIDE that it said to add salt to the dye bath.  Not on the back with the instructions, but on the SIDE.  Why would you put it there?  Really, now…

After a nice soak, pulled it out to hang with the other experiment while I took care of the dye bath.

Yep, it looks like I was filming Psycho in my bathroom.  And my tub is dirty.  But I reasoned the time to clean your tub is AFTER the dye experiment, not before.  And I was right.  The tub turned pink.  But I immediately attacked with Comet and brought it back to pristine whiteness.

You’re supposed to wash the fabric with detergent next.  So I did.  The white portion of my dip-dye turned pink, of course.  Sink turned pink, too.  More Comet.  Then hanging over the tub to dry.

Next day, the solid color piece is noticeably lighter, as I guessed it would be.  Oh well.

What to do with my experiment pieces?

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This entry was posted in making stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to adventures in dyeing

  1. Heather says:

    Cute headband!! I want one 🙂

  2. Alissa says:

    Just took a little hot glue and some twist flowers! (ala Alisa Burke – my new fav art blog: http://alisaburke.blogspot.com/2010/02/recycled-roses-wreath-tutorial_24.html)

  3. Amy Hadley says:

    Oh you're so clever! Don't know that I'd have thought of anything to do with the experimental scraps, but LOVE the headband! I want one, too.:)

  4. Alissa says:

    I'll try to remember to bring one for you, Amy, should I ever get to Prague!

Leave a Reply

