The Big “What If…?”

A few months ago I took up running.  I do not like running, in fact I loathe it.  I took it up for a specific reason: to see if I could do something that I don’t like.  After all, just like people can be picky eaters, I think we can be picky.. um.. activity-doers.  “I don’t like the outdoors.”  “I don’t swim.”  “I don’t want to learn how to juggle.”

Okay, not the greatest examples, but I’m a firm believer in trying new things.  Though I admit that I’m not so good with the trying of things you don’t like, which is why I took up running.  I still don’t like running.  But I do it.  On occasion.  It’s nice to know I can do something I hate and the world won’t end.

But anyway, I digress…

When I started running I looked up some information about running.  I didn’t, like, check out books from the library on it – I wasn’t THAT interested.  Also, running as a process seems rather self-explanatory.  Right foot, left foot, faster than walking, why would you need to write a whole book on it?  But one thing I saw on the internet stuck with me.

How to Become Good at Running

  1. Run.
  2. Run farther.
  3. Repeat step 2.

Uh, what’s this got to do with anything?  You’re all about the digressing..

No, I’m not, and I’ll tell you what this has to do with anything.  Pushing yourself.  Going beyond your limits.  That “trying new things” stuff.

I can’t pinpoint a time when I started having a desire for adventure.  Maybe it’s always been there, I dunno.  And this has led me to do things like climbing mountains, sky-diving, eating octopus (gross!), or driving across Texas in the middle of July in a car with no air conditioning.

A while ago (before the running), a desire for a different kind of adventure started stirring in me.  Not a spontaneous, thrill-seeking adventure, but REALLY pushing myself.  And that desire took the form of a very specific question:

What if I move to another country?

I tried to dismiss it as a fleeting and irrational thought.  Why on Earth would I do that?  I live in one of the most beautiful places on the planet.  (I regularly refer to it as paradise.)  I have a good job, wonderful friends, an amazing church, life is stable.

But… is it too safe?  Am I settling for good instead of pursuing great?

A quote from Wall-E keeps playing in my head:

Captain: I can’t just sit here and do nothing.  That’s all I’ve ever done… Nothing!

AUTO: On the Axiom, you will survive.

Captain: I don’t want to survive.  I want to live.

All this time later and my Big What If still remains.  Enough is enough.  Time to stop swatting at this annoying thought in the back of my mind.  Time to pull it out, put it under a microscope, and examine it.  Is this feasible?  Is this possible?  Could I really do this?

So I decided to do what I tend to do when my head is too full: write about it.  This blog is a place to explore that.  Document.  Muse.  Maybe freak out on occasion.  Wanna come along?

This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Big “What If…?”

  1. Kristin says:

    Alissa, this is awesome! I love how we are both at the beginning of our journeys : ) It’s nice to have others along for the ride, even if it’s via ‘net land. Can’t wait to read more about what happens to you on your adventure– subscribing now!

  2. Pingback: 6 Things To Do when Your Dream’s Been Crushed « The Big "What If…?"

  3. Pingback: Peace Corps 101 « The Big "What If…?"

  4. Pingback: Lost in a Fog « The Big "What If…?"

  5. Pingback: Rethinking The Big What If « The Big "What If…?"

  6. Pingback: There Is No What If « The Big "What If…?"

Leave a Reply

