What to do?

This is probably the second most important question, after where to go.  After all, last time I checked I need to eat to survive.  And having things like clothes, shelter, and health insurance are probably good ideas as well.

Well, the way I see it, there are two places I could end up:

  1. a place with a predominance of English-speaking people
  2. a place with a predominance of non-English-speaking people

Living in the landlocked middle of the United States I speak only English, though I know enough Spanish that I could survive if woke up in Mexico tomorrow.  Most importantly, I know how to ask where the bathroom is.

Unfortunately, my chosen profession – secretary-ing – is not one that readily transfers to another culture. Unlike studying math or medicine or engineering, secretary-ing requires a skill of language. Need be able to read, write, spell, and have decent grammar.  I don’t claim to be an expert, but I think I’m fairly decent in the arena of grammar – except for the making-up-words thing.  (Prefixes and suffixes are fun!!)  By the way, I LOVE secretary-ing.  Seriously.  I willingly chose this as a career.

So if the ultimate destination was the UK, there’s a plethora of things I could do.  I wouldn’t even mind doing something like retail – one of the happiest times in my life was when I was working as a dry cleaning clerk.

Ideally, it would be wonderful to continue to work in higher education.  I know secretaries are important in every industry (Seriously, secretaries run the world.  Think about it.), but I particularly love contributing to the education of young adults.  Helping them discover what they want to do, who they are, and how to navigate this complicated game called life.

If the final landing place was any non-English-speaking destination, my plan would be to become TEFL-certified (that’s Teaching English as a Foreign Language).  There are plenty of courses out there that instruct you how to do this, and they’re only a few weeks long.  And I really think I would enjoy it!  Whether it’s how to draw or use a computer program, I like to share my knowledge and help others learn new skills.

TEFL could be a great bridge while learning the language (and culture!) of the locality.  Maybe one day I’ll be an Italian secretary – who knows?

Of course, visa technicalities could be what utimately make the decision for me!  Following the laws in a foreign country is a good idea in my book, as I’ve never aspired to see the inside of a holding cell.

Thanks to Word clip art for the pictures!

This entry was posted in questions, working and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

