A Travel Craft

To say I like making stuff is an understatement.

I was walking through the farmer’s market to one of my favorite restaurants for lunch a couple weeks ago when I noticed that a local map store was open.  I never happen by when it’s open but have always loved maps.  A table outside had a pile of books for sale, and this one caught my eye:

Was it a sign?  I don’t know, but I had to buy it.  As a sale book, the back cover had been ripped off.

I wanted to do something to keep the pages from getting squished and crinkled.  In addition, the back of my mind recalled a suggestion I heard once about putting book covers on travel books because nothing screams “TOURIST!” quite like carrying a guide book.  Win-win!

I started by cutting a piece of paperboard to the same size as the book and taping it on.

Add some Mod Podge and one of my favorite scraps of fabric.

A little snipping and folding, then some waxed paper to keep the glue from sticking to the inside pages.

‘Course, the folding meant that I covered up some of the information that was on the front cover (which makes me wonder what information I lost on the back cover…).

But thankfully I realized this would happen long before I opened the pot of Mod Podge and planned ahead.  I stuck the book on the photocopier, and glued that page back to the inside.

Ta-da!  Now not only is my book lots prettier, I can go a bit more incognito.

It’s also helpful on this side of the ocean, where having your nose in a travel book leads to lots of people wanting to ask you questions you may not feel like answering yet.  Like my boss who is still unaware of my secret plot to move abroad…  Hey, he’s only been here two months.  Not sure I’m ready to break the news that I might abandon him.

This entry was posted in Czech Republic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Travel Craft

  1. Brittany says:

    What a great idea! I love the result and I can’t believe you were prescient enough to photocopy the inside cover. I never would have thought that far ahead.

    I hope you go abroad, Alissa! If the desire is in your soul, I think you need to.

    Um, this is tickling me: it is possible (just possible) that book was, um, stolen? We rip off front or back covers and return them to the publishers for credit. The ‘striped’ books are then tossed in the recycle bins. But I think that makes your book even cooler. You have now disguised possible contraband!

    • Alissa says:

      I have definitely heard of missing covers = stolen. And the thought did cross my mind. But as far as I could tell the shop is legit! I have been there once or twice before. I honestly don’t know, though! Oh well!

  2. Brittany says:

    All’s well that ends well, I say.

  3. Pingback: Wait a minute, what about Italy? « The Big "What If…?"

Leave a Reply

