chocolate meat-ah-ball-ahs

Okay, so there’s no meat in these. Just chocolate. But they bear such a striking resemblance to meatballs that I started calling them that.

What are they really? Cake pops. Without a stick. Which sorta makes them just cake. But they’re not just cake. They’re so much more. I had to call them something, and “cake balls” sounded a little obscene. See why I started calling them chocolate meatballs? (With Italian accent, of course.) You don’t have to call them that if you don’t want. Let me know if you have a better name idea.

This is what a “proper” cake pop is supposed to look like. 

When my friend Colleen posted on her blog about a pro baker friend who made cake pops, I was instantly intrigued. This is particularly amazing because I do not like cake. It’s so obvious that pie is far superior. But I do like cooking for other people, and a lot of people seem to like cake. And thankfully an event presented itself: the Campus Ambassadors alumni party. And my Bible study. Okay, I made two batches.

So, cake pops. So simple to make. Make a cake. Mash up your cake. Mix in frosting. Form into balls. Put balls on sticks. Dip in chocolate. They’d be an awesome thing to make with kids.

Many people asked how I made these cake pops in particular, so see below. I was inspired by my favorite ice cream in the whole wide world: Bonnie Brae’s Gran Marnier chocolate chip. Translation: chocolate and orange.

I used:

  • Kroger store brand devil’s food cake mix 
  • La Belle orange cognac (Gran Marnier was too expensive) 
  • Pillsbury cream cheese frosting 
  • Kroger store brand melting chocolate 
  • decorative topping: orange zest and chopped almonds 

Prepare cake according to directions except! substitute the booze for the water. :o) 
Let the cake cool, then crumble it up and mix in frosting. (I only chose the Pillsbury cream cheese frosting because it’s non-dairy and I have a dairy-allergic friend. Still creeps me out a bit though that cream cheese frosting can be non-dairy…) 
Form it into balls. 
Roll it in chocolate and set on waxed paper. 
Top with orange zest / chopped almonds mixture if you want to look fancy. 

Why did I forgo the sticks? Aren’t all foods on sticks a good thing? Yes they are. But if the sticks really wanted me to use them, the shouldn’t have been falling out. Blame the sticks.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This entry was posted in cooking stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to chocolate meat-ah-ball-ahs

  1. Colleen says:

    Have you ever stopped by Bakerella? She is the QUEEN BEE of cake pops. Her cake pops are like so amazing they make me cry. Her whole website is like cake pops!

  2. Alissa says:

    I have indeed! That's the first place Google sent me when I was trying to find out how to make them. I'd just be impressed to find out how she gets them to stay on the sticks…

  3. Kristin says:

    Um, cake pops=genius. Thanks for that… Now I have to go buy some sweets!

  4. Alissa says:

    They're so easy, you have no excuse not to try 'em, Kristin. :o)

  5. Amy Hadley says:

    Oh man, these look awesome! And I dunno… I think I prefer them on a plate rather than a pop. And great recipe tweaks!

Leave a Reply

