I’m officially a Boulder hippy.

I’ve lived here for ten years, but after this weekend I think the transformation is complete.

I made my own granola.

*hangs head in shame*

Honestly, I did it out of poverty and not snobbishness. Payday has not yet come and I had the proverbial flies coming out of my wallet. Plus I was sick as a dog and wanted to eat something with a bit of real flavor. You can only eat so many bananas.

I asked my friend, Josh, if he thought these circumstances would make a difference in the eyes of the world.  He said the world wouldn’t care.

*sniff*

But, ya know, it was actually super duper easy so I’m gonna do it again. Cheap, too – I just used what I already had. I didn’t take pictures, though, so I’ll try to keep the post short and not bore you with wordiness. And I’ll use pretty colors of font to keep your visual interest instead, m’kay? But here’s a picture from the internet if you don’t know what granola looks like because.. uh.. your mom never packed granola bars in your lunch. I feel sorry for you.

Someone else’s granola…

Ingredients  

  • whatever you want / whatever leftovers you find in your cupboards
    • however, you probably want some oats as a base…
  • something sticky
  • other flavorings you want

I dug in the back of my cabinets and found some oats, sunflower seeds, walnuts, craisins, dried fruit, chocolate chips, coconut. They were all in various stages of package-open-and-partially-been-used-for-other-recipes-or-snacks.

Chop up anything you think is too big – like the giant chunks of mango I had.

Toast all the grain-type stuff (oats, seeds, nuts) on a cookie sheet in the oven for a few minutes. Careful if you put coconut in there as that stuff’ll burn fast! Learn from my fail…

Throw everything in a bowl. Add something sticky. I used up the remainder of my honey and then drizzled some maple syrup over it all – that “real” stuff that’s more like water. If you want granola bars, add lots of honey.

Add a little melted butter, too

Then, because it’s my kitchen and I can do what I want, I threw in a small amount of brown sugar  and lots of cinnamon. I love cinnamon…

Put everything in a greased casserole dish. If you’re making granola bars, make sure to grease that puppy well. Bake at 300 for 20 minutes. Or whatever you want. Seriously, you can only screw this recipe up if you burn it.

Congrats! Now you’re a hippy like me. Yeah, if I’m stuck as one I’m taking everybody down with me! Muahahaha…
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This entry was posted in cooking stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m officially a Boulder hippy.

  1. Colleen says:

    That looks amazing! I might have to try it.

  2. Alissa says:

    I couldn't believe how easy this was. Now I just wish I had some vanilla ice cream to go with it!

Leave a Reply

