An Answer

After the craziness of trying to reach Peace Corps to ask about medical disqualification, I finally reached a very nice lady named Barbara in the wee hours of the morning. The conversation went something like this:

So I am interested in applying to Peace Corps but I have a past diagnosis of depression. However, it’s managed right now and I haven’t been on medication for over a year. I was wondering if I would automatically be disqualified or if I can still apply and you’d look at my case individually.

You would not be automatically disqualified because then we’d have no one to send to Peace Corps. There are so many people out there who have been diagnosed with depression and who are undergoing treatment as they apply.

What we want is to know about it and to know that you’re doing something about it and that it can be managed before you go to a third-world country where you don’t have any of your regular resources.

 Yay! *happy dance*

Well, if that’s the way PC feels about “pre-existing conditions” maybe they should phrase it differently on their document instead of all doom and gloom.

So does this mean I’ve made a decision? That I’m going into the Peace Corps?

No. Only a quarter of applicants ever get accepted. They could still reject me for something else. And I may investigate further and find that it’s not the right fit for me – though at this time I still think it could be loads of fun. Since completing the application is free (unless I need to pay for a copy of my transcripts), may as well fill it out. Couldn’t hurt!

But still researching…  🙂

This entry was posted in Peace Corps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

