Going Minimal!

One thing’s for sure: if I manage to travel abroad, no matter where I end up I can’t take all my stuff with me.

Well, I could, but those would be some ridiculous expenses for checked baggage and shipping.

So I’m starting the experiment now.  Or maybe just continuing my experiment from when I was twelve.

I took inspiration from Art of Solo Travel author Stephanie Lee – whose blog address I seem to have misplaced!  Anyway, with the exception of the bed, she can move with just one car trip.  Seeing how much I HATE moving my stuff, I loved the sound of that.

Here’s my home as it looks today:

Had to wait for a weekend to photograph it since during the week I’m only home when it’s dark – which makes for poor photos, and I don’t want y’all to think I’m living in a cave.

Behold, my bedroom!  Ain’t it chic?  I’m sure it’ll be gracing the cover of interior design mags soon.  That desk’s a built in so I had no choice but to keep it.  But my boxspring and bedframe have been banished to the bedroom while I make due with a mattress, one set of sheets, and two blankets.  So far, I’m liking it.

Behold, my office / den / living room!  I think it would have been interesting to be without a couch, but that bugger can’t go anywhere.  I barely got it through the skinny door of my 1950s apartment building.  The only art I chose to leave on the wall: a photo of the two people I was named after, my grandmother and great grandfather.

Behold, the entertainment room!  TV and DVD player stayed along with my MP3 player / charger.  But why not put them on the floor?  Less to dust, and I’m a sit-on-the-floor person anyway.

And finally, the library.  I’m rediscovering the joys of library books.  So I only kept four of my books out and packed the rest away.  Everything else is coming from the library.

Where’s everything else?  Well, this transitioning-to-minimalism thing is a work in progress so I will honestly disclose that just out of frame in the photo above is this:

My poor, cluttered entryway where I store my bags (backpacks, camel back, reusable grocery bags), shoes and boots (which I honestly don’t have many of), outdoor gear (climbing and hiking shoes, helmet, scarves and gloves), and cleaning supplies (there’s a vacuum in the corner there).   Oh and hats, obviously.

Everything else is jammed in to the bedroom:

One rule I made for myself was that my art supplies MUST still be accessible.  And I have pulled them out several times.  And then put them back.

Also, in case you were wondering, I took only the clothes that were already in the dirty hamper – meaning I DO wear them – and moved them to the living room closet.  So my sparse closet was pared down even further.

The whole packing-stuff-away process was very enlightening.

“I used this stapler a lot when I was in school.  Now, not so much.  But on occasion I DO need it and it’s nice to have one.”

“This little teapot that was given to me as a Christmas present is pretty and it’s displayed nicely among my books, but it’s never been used.”

“Hmm, a half-empty container of zip ties that I’ve held onto.  Sometimes you need one.  But rarely.  But I feel bad about throwing them away.  Fine, into the trash.”

(A very unfortunate side-effect of living in a very “green” town is that I have guilt about throwing ANYTHING away.  I feel the need to keep it, recycle it, or find another owner.  And since the latter two take a lot of effort I end up doing the first.)

More than once I groaned to myself, “Why do I have so much STUFF?”

I can definitely see the benefits of minimalism.  I like coming home to a place that’s clean – because there’s almost no way to make it messy.  Choosing my clothes in the morning is simple when you don’t have any.  Oh, and I can do almost all my laundry in one load – woohoo for saving quarters!

I also like being less consumeristic.  I walked into Target last week to purchase replacement shoes and my immediate thought was, “Look at all the STUFF!”  And I had (almost) no desire to buy any of it as I didn’t need it.

But I’m not sure I could become one of those less-than-100-things minimalists you see out there in the blog world.  I think minimalism hampers hobbies.  I like to make art.  So I need (and use) my sewing machine, numerous spools of thread, pins, paint, brushes, etc.  I’m also a mountain girl who likes the outdoors.  So I have a sleeping bag, camelback, hiking shoes, climbing shoes, etc.

It’s a fine line between owning and borrowing.  Do I need a crescent wrench every day?  No, but when I do it’s good to know I have one.  How about a vacuum?  Or printer?  Do I need to choose between a dress coat or outdoorsy/waterproof coat?  And what about cold weather versus hot weather?

There’s definitely a lot of stuff I CAN get rid of, though.  And I probably will, though not quite yet.  I’m trying to stay out of the bedroom as much as possible, but in this transition it’s good to know stuff is there if I realize I DO use this more often than I’ve thought.

Though I’ve also been good about trying to pretend it’s not there and not at my disposal.  Like the morning I thought, “My black leather jacket would be the perfect compromise between my summer jacket and winter coat for this weather,” but forced myself to leave it on the hanger and pretend I had to make do.

Anyway, to sum up: I’m liking this experiment and plan to try to minimalize my kitchen soon.  (Thanks to Amy for the continued inspiration.)

I’d like to hear what you think, though.  Minimalism: good or bad?  What impedes you from taking the plunge?  Would it work or not work with your lifestyle?

This entry was posted in minimalism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Minimal!

  1. Pingback: Here we are now. Entertain us! « The Big "What If…?"

Leave a Reply

