Update

So, Alissa, you haven’t written lately about where you are with that whole moving abroad thing – no research, no nothing.  What’s going on?  Are you still going?

First, I admit that I’ve been lazy about finishing my Peace Corps application.  So I went online today to wrap it up, only to find out that I still can’t turn it in because my degree and major aren’t listed.  And the application considers at least the degree a required field.

I e-mailed their office three weeks ago, then called about two weeks ago.  I got in touch with an actual human being who said she would get my degree listed.  No dice.  So I e-mailed them again tonight.

But to be honest, it wasn’t just laziness and waiting for that field that’s been keeping me from my research and actions.  It’s fear, plain and simple.  Things in my life are actually going really well right now!  With life being cyclical I know it’ll be bad again eventually, but I didn’t really want to leave something so good.

That made me wonder if this whole idea was just an excuse to run away instead of face difficult things.  I came to the conclusion that it wasn’t, but looking at the options more seriously has just freaked me out a bit.

One thing I have been thinking of is changing the go date.  I was initially aiming for April, but I’m considering waiting until next fall.  Main reasons include wanting to see my church open its new building at Easter, climbing more mountains with my friends next summer (before we all end up unable due to having kids or something), my former roomie having a baby late next spring, and my favorite co-worker getting married in September.

If anything, I’m going to be a bit more flexible about a take-off date instead of firmly sticking to April 2011.

Even if I do make perfect plans, something can always go awry.  So I remember a quote someone told me ten years ago: Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape. I’m not giving up on the idea of this adventure, but if it needs to be postponed I’m not going to get bent out of shape.

Until then, I do tend to still question the cultural norm and try to live a more meaningful life no matter which country I call home.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

