A Decision

I’ve thought about how to write this post, the culmination of that big question I started exploring: What if I move to another country?  In short, after much consideration I’ve decided to be brief on words (saving some electrons, I suppose) and just announce: I’m staying here.  For now.

I’m still very much intrigued by the possibility of some day moving abroad but there are a number of concerns that I couldn’t overcome in my research and decision-making.  (Among some others, abandoning a fulfilling job that I enjoy when I know so many who are out of work, and the high possibility of not finding a job wherever I land.)

If anything, looking at the option of leaving has opened my eyes to the number of things that I love about Colorado.  And I’m terribly excited to get out and enjoy my home even more – climbing mountains, signing up for a half marathon, and I’m even considering buying a road bike to explore some of the flatter parts of the state.  And if my legs get strong enough, the hilly parts, too.

I’ve also thought about short-term versus long-term dreams and goals.  This moving-abroad idea has only been percolating in my head for about a year.  However, the dream of seeing the Olympics took root some time ago.  Hopefully things work out so that I’ll be able to experience my dream of seeing the games in person – if not in London, then perhaps in Rio.  Who knows, while I’m across the ocean I may be able to pop round to visit some friends in Prague, Vienna, or Luzern.

And I’d love to travel to Afghanistan with my church, too.  I think the only limiting factor between that and London is the amount of leave I’ll be able to take from work!  Even now I’m trying to calculate if I’ll have enough hours to travel in 2012.

I’d also love to do something memorable for my 30th birthday, which is coming up before too long.  Again, the hours off from work are a concerning factor as is the question of funding.

My personal takeaway from all this is that you only have one life to live.  So start living it now!  Don’t wait for some mysterious circumstance to change or you to have “enough” money (’cause there never really is enough, is there?) or whatever.

One thing I’ve learned is that I don’t want to spend my life in my living room being entertained by my computer and television.  As a life-long couch potato and bookworm, I now want to challenge myself physically, too.  Last week I went skiing for the first time since I was six!  I’m looking at a browser window with registration links for two half marathons next spring, just trying to decide which (or both!) I want to try.  I also want to climb more mountains.  And pack a tent into more corners of this state.  Maybe do more rock-climbing, too.  And neighboring ventures like hiking the Grand Canyon or fishing in Yellowstone are just a one-day drive away.  On the mental side, I’m adoring teaching Sunday school at my church.  And I think I want to sign up for language classes next semester.  I’m tingling with excitement at the thoughts of all the options available to me, right here at home!

It’s never too late to try something new and become who you want to be.  We can all live a life of purpose wherever we are.  What’s stopping you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Decision

  1. Cheryl says:

    Sounds like a win-win. I’ve learned at lot, too.

Leave a Reply

