Destination?

So, now that I’ve officially decided that Colorado will continue to be my home for the foreseeable future, what’s the plan for the blog?  I’ve thought about this a lot, and for a while considered just junking the thing.  “Deleting” it and thus sending it off into the internet ether…

But this whole concept of moving has made me re-evaluate MANY parts of my life.  Things that I’m STILL looking at and thinking, “Even though I’ve always done it this way, what if I do something different?”

As a friend very wisely said as Bible study this week, “I want God to help me be content but not complacent.”  Too true!  It’s so easy to get to a point in life where things are good and so you just get.. settled.  And inertia keeps you there.

That’s me.  I’m fairly pleased with my life, which tends to keep me from doing anything and enacting any change – even though change would be for the better.  It’s like when my alarm goes off in the morning.  My inertia just says, “Bed is awesome!  Sleep good!  Snuggly blankets are the best thing EVAR!”  But I get up and go to work because without work I wouldn’t have a bed.  And blankets.  And an alarm clock.

And there are some Saturdays or holidays when I turn off the alarm and do stay in bed longer.  Eventually, though, bed isn’t as comfy as it was.  I start getting too hot, restless, the sun’s in my eyes, and my brain starts thinking about things I should do today.  I don’t think the human body is designed to stay at rest.

Similarly, I don’t think our lives should be such that we reach a certain state and stay there forever.  They should include constant self-assessment.

That song from Switchfoot keeps ringing in my head: This is your life.  Are you who you want to be? Not who others want you to be, but who YOU want to be.

And I’m not.  Not even close.  And to be fair, I never will be.  But, ya know, I probably shouldn’t be.  If I’m ever completely satisfied with who I am and can find no faults in myself I’d be awfully proud and egocentric, right?

So, at the forefront of this “what if I live my life differently” concept is trying to kick some bad habits and establish better ones.

Bad habit confession: I don’t take out the trash as often as I should.  I have a medium-sized trash can, and it fills up fast, and I usually take the trash out when it’s the equivalent volume of about three trash cans.  I never let it get to the point where it starts smelling and stuff, but cereal boxes sit in a pile next to the trash.  Plastic bags from Qdoba sitting on the ground become the place I dump my old receipts because my trash can is overflowing.

Gross, right?  By no means do you need to turn me in to that hoarders show (uh, yet) but still a bad habit to kick.

Small step to make change happen: putting my garbage bags at the bottom of the trash can.

Duh.  Simple, right?  I don’t want to throw trash in on the roll of new bags because I’ll just mess them up.  Which means I have to remember put a new bag in the can, which then makes it easier to take the trash out when it gets full.

My mom has done this forever, and I don’t know what’s wrong with my brain that I didn’t do it before also.  The only thing I can think is that the trash can is pretty small and the roll of bags does take up a good chunk of real estate.  (You know, I can always blame that ingrained architecture training whenever there’s space involved.)

Oh, and by the way, if you haven’t switched to Glad’s Force Flex bags yet, what on Earth is wrong with you?  Seriously, folks, the commercials aren’t lying. You can stick boxes and stuff in those suckers and stretch the sides out but don’t break.  I swear, Glad didn’t pay me anything to get me to say this.  I’m just a happy customer.

So, anyway, back to the blog… stay tuned if you want to see me try to live life differently, in part by kicking some bad habits.

Hmm, guess some of the blog design / settings / info’s gonna have to be updated…

This entry was posted in bad habit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

