A Tree in a Forest

Just finished reading Don Miller’s book “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years”.  For the third time.  (What can I say?  It’s really good.)

The premise of the book reminds me a lot of Ecclesiastes – searching for meaning in life, aka, how to live a better story.  There are MANY great points that he brings up, but one that’s on my mind this morning is what it means to be a tree in a story of a forest.

That is, it’s not all about you.

What’s the forest?  God’s greater story involving all of humanity.  And he calls us to be a part of it!  But sometimes I have a tendency to to think, “Hey, look at me!  I’m a pretty tree!  Look at my branches and lovely leaves that give shade.  And sometimes birds come land on me.”  Rarely do I realize that there’s a whole bunch of other trees around me.

I’m thinking of this point specifically this morning as I saw two postings for jobs that I am interested in applying for.  The prospect is very scary.  I’ve been at my current job for over seven years and while it can be unfulfilling sometimes, I know it.  And there’s comfort in knowing something and feeling relatively safe.

So I’ve prayed for the past three years, “God, I’m not very happy in my job any more.”  And he’s replied, “I can use you anywhere.”

I’m torn.  If I apply, am I turning my back on a place that God wants me to be right now?  If I don’t apply, am I too chicken to take a step out into the unknown?

And what does this choice mean in the grander scheme, if I’m trying to keep in mind that I am just a tree in a forest?  That my ultimate goal in life should not be self-satisfaction but service?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

