Saturdays with the Spirit: Junkyard

I don’t listen to a lot of music.  I have a drawer of CDs that I’ve collected over the years, and it’s rare that I pull one out and listen.  Even in the car, I’ll often have the radio off just driving in silence.  But a few weeks ago I pulled out “Erasers on Pencils” by Ceili Rain and it’s become my dishwashing CD.  (I need distraction from my least-favourite chore.)

I’ll bet most people haven’t heard of Ceili Rain, and I hadn’t either until a friend lent me this CD.  The best description I can come up with is Christian Celtic rock.  Yeah, let your brain try to wrap around that for a minute.  It’s eclectic, and a lot of the songs are silly, fun, and great to dance around to while you’re up to your elbows in suds.

The last song on the CD is called “Junkyard”.  It’s a reminder that we can’t forget what we’ve seen.  Things like violence in movies, erotic imagery.  They’re stuck in our brains forever.  So why do we expose ourselves to this?

My heart is not a junkyard

My soul is not a dump for all the gunk around

My spirit’s not a junkyard

No, it’s holy ground

And each time I do dishes and get to this song, I’m convicted again to try to be more cognizant of what I let my eyes see.

Here’s a youtube link I found that has the song with some imagery added by the uploader.  Don’t bother watching; just listen to the lyrics. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r8dHYY2wXgk

This entry was posted in Saturdays with the Spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

