January: Unplugged

I’m trying a different type of resolution this year: a different resolution each month.  And I’m starting with a doozy for January.  No TV or computer at home.  (I’m tossing this post together quickly before work, and I brought my laptop to my desk to lock away for a month.)

On New Year’s Eve I ran a 5K with a friend whose 2012 resolution was to run a mile a day (minimum) for a year.  The race was her grande finale.  As we sat at tables shivering while eating our finisher’s pasta, she pulled out her phone to make a Facebook post celebrating her 366-day streak.  She said, “You’ll ‘like’ this, right?”  I told her I wanted to, but I couldn’t.  I’d be going straight from the race to a NYE party and by the time I got home it would be January.  Instead she commented on her post, “Alissa officially ‘likes’ this but cannot say so because she’s sworn off the internet.”

Yesterday I got home from a showing of Les Miserables with friends and took a nap.  When I woke up, I stood in the hallway wondering what to do.  I couldn’t look up trivia on the film on IMDb.  I couldn’t watch Netflix.  I couldn’t talk with friends on Facebook.  I couldn’t calculate my per-mile time from the 5K.  I couldn’t check the news to see what the weather would be like tomorrow, so I just had to guess “cold” since it’s January.  So cold that I kicked myself for picking this challenge in January instead of June, when at least I could go outside to entertain myself with strolls or hikes or bike rides.

I washed dishes in silence, then cooked dinner while listening to NPR.  Settled down with a library book I had heard was good, but was still rather dull in its first quarter.  Took a hot bath (it’s really cold).

One day into my challenge and I’m already annoyed by it.

But that’s the point.  I wanted to fast from my constant need to be entertained.  I need to learn to be bored, and see what I can do with that boredom.  And how much I can accomplish now that I “have time”.  I always “had time”, but I was wasting so much of it sitting in front of a screen.

Besides cleaning, I have an idea for a January project: a cardboard mosaic.  I haven’t taken my recycling out in months because I’ve had the nagging feeling I can do something artsy with it.  I plan to cut up all the paperboard boxes by color and create a mosaic.  I don’t know what the picture will be; I need to see what colors I have to work with thanks to cereal, pasta, and twinkle lights.

This entry was posted in challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January: Unplugged

  1. katie says:

    What a great idea! I laughed at the things you use the Internet for because I do the exact same. And this really made me laugh: “I couldn’t check the news to see what the weather would be like tomorrow, so I just had to guess “cold” since it’s January.”

    I want to see pictures of this mosaic when you finish it! Also, if you need a book recommendation, I LOVED “Wonder.” It’s a young adult book, but hey, we’re young adults, yeah? Now I’m reading “MWF seeks BFF.” It’s a total girl book but it’s hilarious and doesn’t have the weird sex parts other girl books have.

    • Alissa says:

      I think the mosaic will be a hope-it’s-done-by-summer project. Taking so much longer than I expected!

      Thirty-one is TOTALLY still young adult. I’ll add “Wonder” to my book list. I actually wrote down all the books you posted on your blog for your summer reading post for my book list. True story. Though I’ve only read about a half dozen of them. Just finished “Gone Girl” and would highly recommend. Disturbing, but I can’t remember the last time I was so engrossed in a book.

Leave a Reply

