February Food Update: Salad!

I have to tell you about this amazing salad I ate last night!  Thai coconut.  I will definitely have to try making this myself.

  • mixed greens
  • cucumber
  • sweet potato
  • grated, unsweetened coconut
  • roasted chicken
  • mango peanut dressing

Here’s the thing.  I like salads.  But I really struggle to come up with good, flavorful combinations.  Veggies are tasty, but they can be kinda boring and bland.

It’s easy to make salads unhealthy, but I don’t want to have to add lots of unhealthy stuff to a salad before it tastes good enough for me to want to eat it.  I’m not a huge fan of salad dressings.  I can tolerate a little bit of not-too-strongly-flavored dressing (I hate ranch and bleu cheese, and can only handle a little smidge of ceasar) as a complement to the ingredients.  I want to taste the stuff under the dressing, not cover it up!

Last night’s salad lightly dressed with a peanutty sauce was pretty much perfection.  🙂

P.S.  Today’s lunch: corn chowder (I’m throwing the last little bit away when I get home), carrots, grapes, cashews, and some grapefruit juice.  Mmm, grapefruit juice…

This entry was posted in challenge, cooking stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

