Healthy Banana Coconut Walnut Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins

Yup, you read that title right.  There’s a lot of yummy stuff in these…

IMG_9600

I was trying to figure out a healthy breakfast-slash-post-run-recovery option without spending $1 each on power bars and such (which do have lots of protein but also have lots of calories and sugar).  So I looked up some muffin recipes and made some substitutions for healthier ingredients — nixing butter and oil, decreasing sugar, adding in oatmeal and flax and walnuts and coconut for some additional protein and fiber.  If I’m doing my math right, these end up at around 130 calories each — a far cry from the 400-600 calorie muffins you find at the grocery store.

After some tweaking I think I’ve come up with a winning formula.  For now; still experimenting.  I tried a batch with more oatmeal, but they ended up really tough and chewy so I dropped it back down.  Though the sugar’s already really low, I’m thinking of cutting it out of the next batch to see what happens.  Maybe try cocoa powder instead of chocolate chips?  Later in the summer when I start getting produce out of my garden I’d plan to swap the bananas for shredded zucchini or carrots.

But enough talking.  Meet the cast:

IMG_9583

Ingredients: 

  • 2 mushed bananas (freeze, thaw, snip the end, squeeze out) 
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c applesauce
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1 t vanilla
  • a few generous shakes of cinnamon
  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c oatmeal
  • 1/3 c flax meal
  • 1 t baking soda 
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 c walnuts 
  • 1/4 c coconut flakes
  • 1/4 c mini chocolate chips

(I know, it looks like waaay more chocolate chips, walnuts, and coconut when you spread them out on a plate like that.  But I promise it’s only a quarter cup of each.  A little really does go a long way!)

Heat oven to 350.  Mix bananas, eggs, applesauce, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon in a mixer.  In another bowl combine flour, oatmeal, flax, soda, and salt.  Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture bit by bit.  Fold in the fun stuff for texture and added flavor – nuts, coconut flakes, and chocolate.

IMG_9587

Put liners in a muffin tin, or spray with a bit of non-stick spray.  Transfer batter to a muffin tin using an ice cream scoop.  Seriously, these are perfect for the job.  Get the same amount in each cup, and don’t have to worry about dribbles in between.

IMG_9597IMG_9599

Bake at 350 for 18-20 minutes.  Let cool.  Store in a semi-airtight container like a cookie jar.  Makes 12 muffins.  I make these on Saturday morning and then I’m set for a week.

IMG_9602

 

This entry was posted in cooking stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

