Time to fly!

Tomorrow morning my team and I are getting on our first of several flights and bus rides with the ultimate destination of Iganga, Uganda.  With time changes, I’m not even sure how long it’ll take – something like two days?  We could use your prayers!

Pray for health and safety in travel.

Pray for my sanity during the super long times stuck in cramped seats.  My legs get antsy!

Pray for customs and visas and passports and such to go smoothly.

Pray for our culture shock transition to different foods, languages, travel, heat, etc.

Pray for patience in all of these!

Also, please pray for our spirits.  I was talking with some of my team members recently, and we all talked about feeling like we were under spiritual attack.  We felt terrified.  We felt discouraged.  We doubted the skills and talents God has given us and what he can do with them.  We doubted God.

Later I found this verse, which I have hung onto like a treasure:

Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work WITHIN US, to accomplish INFINITELY MORE than we might ask or think. –Ephesians 3:20-21

Pray for us to be reminded of the confidence we can have in our all-powerful, all-knowing, all-loving God who is capable of things beyond our imagination!

*****

A note about pictures: don’t expect many.  They told us this at training – and I actually completely agree.  The focus should be on the work we are doing and the people we are with, not on creating a good Facebook album or documenting life in Africa (that’s what National Geographic is for).  How would you feel if Paris Hilton came to your home and was taking photos of how us common middle-class people live?  Personally, I’d be embarrassed and insulted.

So there will be some pictures, but not a lot.

*****

Psst!  I’ll have advance-written blog posts popping up here while I’m on the trip, but you can also follow along on our team blog over here.  Maybe I’ll get to write something live from nearly-on-the-equator!  🙂

This entry was posted in Musana. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

