God’s good gifts

I know, I know, I haven’t blogged in so long I actually almost forgot how to log onto this site. But I wanted to share a little story about an answer to prayer last night.

One year ago today I met my CASA kiddo for the first time. (Wow, time has flown!) Combine that with her upcoming middle school graduation, some big challenges and changes happening in her case right now, and the last chance we were going to get to hang out before I take a few weeks off to get married (!!!) the CASA office helped get a gift certificate for the two of us to have a fun night at a local mini-golf / go-cart / arcade place. I wanted her to feel loved, celebrated, special. Because she is. She really really is.

But.. rain… On Monday the Denver area was hit with a massive storm and rains and hail. It didn’t hit our area as much, but rains were predicted to continue all week. I watched the forecast anxiously and Tuesday evening did not look good. EVERY outlet predicted heavy, steady rain all evening long.

I’ll admit, I was angry at God. This was supposed to be a special event for her, something I and others had planned for weeks, clearing with her placement, applying for a grant, staff arranging it with the venue, and now it looked like our only option was to be stuck inside their arcade all night. Which isn’t bad, but I was hoping to give her some options for different fun activities to choose from.

I prayed, “God, please don’t let it rain.”

To be honest, I didn’t expect he would answer.

I checked the weather again before I left. Yup, still rain. I stopped at Target on the way to pick her up to grab two rain ponchos. Sold out. I stood there in the aisle upset as I stared at the empty bin, willing more ponchos to appear. “Seriously, God? I can’t even get rain gear for us?”

And at that moment I had a bit of peace. Admittedly, just a tiny bit. A reminder that God’s got this. That he loves her waaaaay more than me.

And I thought, “What if the reason there are no ponchos is because we won’t need them?” Walking back to my car, the sky was still solidly gray clouds. But maybe…

You can guess what happened. It didn’t rain. Not one drop.

We zipped around and around the outdoor go cart track with the pedal to the floor, and chased mini golf balls that seemed determined to explore the bushes. And when we finally did go inside to the arcade we hit the jackpot on one of the games, which spit out so many tickets that the staff had to refill the machine TWICE.

Capture

In case you were wondering, this is what the end of a ticket roll looks like.  🙂

As we left with our arms laden with candy, trinkets, and a galaxy shark we jumped and laughed and literally clicked our heels running across the parking lot while this tough 13 year old girl declared this the best day ever.

A friend of mine told me a few months ago that she believes God is powerful enough to answer her prayers, but she usually doesn’t believe that he will. I admit I often have the same struggle. How easily I forget Matthew 7:11 where Jesus says,

“So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.”

VERY good gifts. Like the beautiful, rain-free sunset we saw as we drove home afterwards and an overflowing bag of arcade tickets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

